|By contrast, we were amused to read the poster from the public library, shown on the left. Quite who had the job of deciding who was “a dirty person” we will never know. Whilst we do not know the date of this poster, it dates from after 1908, the date when the build of Accrington’s Carnegie Library was finished.
This poster reminded us of similar ones that were posted in the various mills across Lancashire and Yorkshire of “Rules of the Mill”.
|Amongst the coin collection, we were lucky to be able to look at the medal from Accrington’s Mother and Baby Day held in Oak Hill Park in 1929.
Each child received a medal on a blue ribbon from the Mayor. Over 700 mothers and their babies attended and were treated to entertainment in the park and afternoon tea.
The two medals on red, white and blue ribbons were from the Jubilee of the Accrington Borough incorporation, the celebration being in 1928.
|The photographic album that the Friends had had conserved was also on view, with the replica produced by Harry Emmett there to handle. The photographs were taken in 1921 following the conversion of Hollins Hill, Anne Haworth’s home, to Haworth Art Gallery after her death and her gift of the house and grounds to the people of Accrington.
We also looked at a Chinese porcelain bowl with pierced decoration, a Chinese tea bowl, Chinese slippers and pattons. There were also household bills dating from just after World War ll , one of which was a rates bill for around £5.
A fascinating morning for the Friends, which gave just a small insight into the treasures of the gallery.